Ohio Skate University

July 10, 2010

Kelly Hart v. Erik Ellington


May 28, 2010

Battle At The Berrics 3 Predictions

As I did last year, I’m going to let you guys see my picks. If you just want to see the picks the filled out bracket will be at the bottom.

Quadrants 1 & 2 – 1st Round

Chris Cole v. Joey Brezinski = Chris Cole. Unless Joey thinks up some unusual tricks, I think Chris has got this one.

Danny Garcia v. Johnny Layton = Johnny Layton. Based on having a better run last time than Danny.

Gilbert Crockett v. Shane O’neill = Shane O’neill. I figure that in order to flip in and out of tricks like that you have to be pretty consistent.

Greg Lutzka v. Eric Koston = Eric Koston. He invented this and what we know now as the eS Game of Skate.

Benny Fairfax v. Cesar Fernandez = Benny Fairfax. He was runner-up the first time.

Josiah Gatlyn v. PJ Ladd = PJ Ladd. Same reasoning I used for Shane O’neill.

Cory Kennedy v. Jimmy Cao = Cory Kennedy. He never got more than a letter except for when he lost to Paul Rodriguez.

Ryan Gallant  Kelly Hart v. Erik Ellington = Ryan Gallant. Erik did well his time through but I want to see how Ryan fairs.

Quadrants 3 & 4 – 1st Round

Mike Mo Capaldi v. Peter Ramondetta = Mike Mo. He was the first winner.

Brandon Biebel v. Mark Appleyard = Mark Appleyard. He did better his time through.

Marc Johnson v. Rick Howard = Marc Johnson. He did extremely well against the Legion of Doom.

Marty Murawski v. Torey Pudwill = Torey Pudwill. Sorry Marty but Torey has been killing it the past few years and did well his time through.

Paul Rodriguez v. Sean Malto = Paul Rodriguez. Runner-up last time and potentially the most consistent skater there is.

Chico Brenes v. Dennis Busenitz = Dennis Busenitz. Chico didn’t have that great of a run and if I remember correctly Dennis had to play Chris Cole the 2nd round and held up pretty well.

Billy Marks v. David Gonzalez = Billy Marks. This might be news to you, but Billy is really good at skateboarding.

Steve Berra v. Heath Kirchart = Heath Kirchart. Steve didn’t really play during the first run but Heath had a good run through his games.


Quadrants 1 & 2 – 2nd Round

Chris Cole v. Johnny Layton = Chris Cole. Johnny didn’t make it that far and Chris won.

Shane O’neill v. Eric Koston = Eric Koston. I might regret this pick but I’m picking Eric based on experience.

Benny Fairfax v. PJ Ladd = Benny Fairfax. Benny was runner-up the first time and PJ didn’t make it too far.

Cory Kennedy v. Ryan Gallant Kelly Hart = Cory Kennedy. This stands for the same reason as the first round.


Quadrants 3 & 4 – 2nd Round

Mike Mo Capaldi v. Mark Appleyard = Mike Mo. Mark didn’t make it very far.

Marc Johnson v. Torey Pudwill = Torey Pudwill. Marc didn’t make it very far either.

Paul Rodriguez v. Dennis Busenitz Chico Brenes= Paul Rodriguez. Consistency and trick selection.

Billy Marks v. Heath Kirchart = Billy Marks. I think Heath had a better run in comparison but I’m picking Billy because it isn’t a clear cut match.


Quadrants 1 & 2 – 3rd Round

Chris Cole v. Eric Koston = Chris Cole. This is where it gets hard to pick so all of the following are guess work but I’m picking Chris based on the fact that we watched him pretty much beat everyone at their own game last time, this match would make that literal.

Benny Fairfax v. Cory Kennedy = Cory Kennedy. I’m picking Cory based on trick selection.


Quadrants 3 & 4 – 3rd Round

Mike Mo Capaldi v. Torey Pudwill = Mike Mo. Based on him winning the first batb and a cleaner style.

Paul Rodriguez v. Billy Marks = Paul Rodriguez. Based on consistency.


Final Four

Chris Cole v. Cory Kennedy = Chris Cole. At this point I don’t think I have to state my reasonings.

Mike Mo Capaldi v. Paul Rodriguez = Mike Mo.



Chris Cole v. Mike Mo Capaldi = Chris Cole.

Third Place MatchCory Kennedy v. Paul Rodriguez = Paul Rodriguez.

For Battle At The Berrics 2 footage and predictions, click here.

May 19, 2010

Battle At The Berrics 3 Match-Ups

Spoiler Alert, Steve said it’s coming next week. Click more for the rest.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.